Back to Vascular Web

 2010 Program

Texas Society of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery
Established 1984
W. TODD BOHANNON, M.D.                                                                                                                                                              W. TRACEY JONES, M.D.
President                                                                                                                                                                                                        Past-President
MARVIN D. ATKINS, M.D.                                                                                                                                                                    BOULOS TOURSARKISSIAN, M.D.
Secretary/Webmaster                                                                                                                                                                          Treasurer

Fall Meeting
October 1, 2010
Hilton Palacio Del Rio
0700-0800              Registration
0800-0805              Welcome and Announcements  
                                 W. Todd Bohannon, MD - President
0700-1030              Continental Breakfast Available
Session I: Moderator --   W. Todd Bohannon, MD
0800-0930              Cerebrovascular and PVD Session
         0805-0820     Carotid Stenting in a Contemporary Vascular Surgery Practice
                                                W. Todd Bohannon, MD
         0820-0840     CEA versus CAS- has CREST made a Difference?
                                                Robert B. Rutherford, MD
         0840-0900     Claudication: A Vascular Surgeon’s Perspective
                                                Dixon Santana, MD
         0900-0920     Rotational Angiography for Vascular Surgery
                                                Zachary M. Arthurs, MD
         0920-0930     Panel Discussion
0930-1000              Break and Visit with Exhibitors                                 
Session II:  Moderator – Clifford J. Buckley, MD
1000-1200                 Aortic Session
         1000–1020    Novel Solution for Persistent Problems Associated with EVAR
                                                Clifford J. Buckley, MD
         1020–1040    Debranching, Fenestrations, Branch Grafts During TEVAR
                                                Frank R. Arko, MD
         1040-1100     Management of the Unclampable Arch in Complex Thoracoabdominal                                    Aortic Aneurysm Repair
                                                Marvin D. Atkins, MD
         1100-1145     Long-term Durability of EVAR
                                                Chris Zarins, MD
         1145-1200     Panel Discussion
1200-1300              Lunch and Visit with Vendors
1200-1300              Business Lunch
Session III:   Moderator – Ruth L. Bush, MD
1300-1430              Venous and Trauma Session
         1300–1320    Minimally Invasive Therapy of Perforators
                                                Ruth L. Bush. MD
         1320-1340     Complex Hemodialysis Access and Salvage
                                                David Cull, MD
         1340–1400    Endoscopic Basilic Vein Transposition
                                                Matt J. Sideman, MD
         1400-1420     Military Vascular Injury Research Programs 2005-2010
                                                Todd Rasmussen, MD
         1420-1430     Panel Discussions
         1430-1500     Break and Visit with Vendors
Session IV:   Moderator – Marvin D. Atkins, MD
1500-1700              Resident and Fellow Presentations
         1500-1515     Endovascular Aortic Balloon Occlusions is Superior to Thoracotomy                           with Clamping in a Porcine Model of Class IV Hemorrhagic Shock
                                                CPT Nick Markov, MD, USAF, MC
         1515-1530     Hemorrhagic Shock Compounds Ischemia/Reperfusion Injury in a Porcine Hind Limb Model
                                                CPT Tommy Percival, MD, USAF, MC
         1530-1545     Ultrasound enhanced thrombolysis for the management of Deep Venous Thrombosis
                                                Javier E. Anaya-Ayala, M.D.
         1545-1600     Endovascular Repair of Secondary Aortoenteric Fistula after Trans-abdominal Gunshot Wound
                                                Lillian Liao, MD, MPH           
  1600-1615     Staurosporine Induces Brain Microvascular Endothelial Cell
                          Hyperpermeability through Intrinsic Apoptotic Signaling Pathway.
                                         James R. McKenzie, MD
         1615-1630     Ruptured Acute Type B Thoracic Aortic Dissection Treated with Thoracic Stentgraft.
                                                Carlos Rueda, MD
         1630-1645     Gender-Dependent Changes after Injury in Skeletal Muscle Regeneration
                                                Matthew McHale, DO
         1645-1700     Successful Endovascular Repair of two Ruptured Thoracic Aortic Aneurysms in Nonagenarians
                                                Christopher Smolock, M.D
Evening Agenda
         1800-1900       Cocktails
         1900-              Dinner
                                 Awards for Resident and Fellows
                                 The Hummingbirds:  A 30-year Experience with High Speed
                                                Terry Lairmore, MD