Vascular Web Logo

SVS  SVS Foundation




  Hobson Resident Research Fund

Please make a donation to the Hobson Fund

The New Jersey Medical School Vascular Alumni is honoring Robert Hobson, II, MD, by establishing an award fund to endow the SVS® Foundation Resident Research Prize, a $5,000 award presented annually to an outstanding vascular or general surgery resident at the Vascular Annual Meeting®. Dr. Hobson’s dedication to future vascular and general surgeons inspired his colleagues to keep his legacy alive.

Bob Hobson (pictured at Ft. Bragg, N.C. in 1964) had a gift for motivating young vascular surgeons. His encouragement was always personalized, directed toward a realistic but ambitious common goal, and seasoned with accountability. Making a contribution to award young surgeons for their research is the best way to remember him.

He was a leading protagonist pursuing funding and providing leadership for landmark trials. He placed great emphasis on evidence-based education. Many of the vascular solutions for the 1980s and 90s were entirely based upon retrospective data. The VA Cooperative trial on Asympotomatic Carotid Stenosis was the first to convincingly define the risk/benefit ratio of carotid endarterectomy (CEA). This finding was substantially enhanced by extension to a broader population with the Asympotomatic Carotid Artery Stenosis trial. His legacy continues with CREST, and ongoing comparison of CEA to the emerging alternative of Carotid Angioplasty and Stenting.

The SVS Foundation Resident Research Prize will be funded with a principal of $100,000. A portion of the Hobson Resident Research Fund has been raised. Your contribution to this effort will keep alive Dr. Hobson’s dreams for vascular surgery.

SVS Foundation thanks contributors for their generous support (April 1, 2009 – March 31, 2012):

Advanced Vascular Surgery
James B. Alexander, MD
John Blebea, MD
Eli Curi, MD
Michael A. Curi, MD
Herbert Dardick, MD
Matthew J. Dougherty, MD
David Fox, MD
General and Vascular Associates
Gary Giangola, MD
James M. Goff, Jr., MD
John Golan, MD
Jack L. Hamman, MD
Paul B. Haser, MD
Stanley A. Hirsh, MD
Robert Hye, MD
Zafar Jamil, MD
Richard G. Karanfilian, MD
Gregory J. Kechejian, MD
Glenn L. Kelly, MD
Robert L. Kistner, MD
George Lavenson, Jr. MD
Graham Long, MD
James Menzoian, MD
Todd Morrow, MD
Richard F. Neville, MD
Takao Ohki, MD
Raul Ortega, MD
Frank T. Padberg, MD
Grant Parr, MD
Matthew B. Rossi, MD
Anton N. Sidawy, MD
Gus J. Slotman, MD
William Suval, MD
Robert B. Swersky, MD
Joseph M. Van De Water, MD
James S. Wagner, MD
Thomas W. Wakefield, MD
Dean H. Wasserman, MD
Mell B. Wellborn III, MD
Richard A. Yaeger, MD

Updated August 2013




Contact Us

Society for Vascular Surgery
633 North Saint Clair Street, 22nd Floor | Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 312-334-2300 | 800-258-7188
Fax: 312-334-2320

Follow Us


VascularWeb® is the prime source for all vascular health and disease information, and is presented by the Society for Vascular Surgery®. Its members are vascular surgeons, specialists, and vascular health professionals who are specialty-trained in all treatments for vascular disease including medical management, non-invasive procedures, and surgery.